On talent and people with too much time

After discussing the chapter on 10,000 hours from The Outliers, I came to two conclusions:

1. I am a bit offended.

2. I am also a bit comforted.

Initially, I felt as though Gladwell was totally discrediting innate talent. This was upsetting to me, a young person that feels she is quite smart and relatively talented. However, upon further inspection, I realized that it’s more about how some personal tendencies play into how we choose to dedicate our time. Now the comforting side involves the idea that I do posses the potential to be great at anything if I am willing to dedicate the time to develop this “talent.”

Now the real question is, who in the world sets out to log 10,000?? Honestly, I want more than to sit and work tirelessly to be the greatest computer nerd or violinist. My desire is to be well rounded and experience many things. So although I will not be a multi-millionaire or an expert in poetry, I will have a fulfilling life. And to me, that’s better.

2 thoughts on “On talent and people with too much time

  1. I completely agree with you! As I started to read this article my thought process was like, “So you have to spend 10,000 hours to be great at something? What about the rest of us? Am I not great at anything in life because I haven’t spent 10,000 hours working at anything?”, but as I read deeper into the article I began to get the deeper meaning behind it. I wouldn’t want to spend 10,000 hours doing one specific thing because I wouldn’t have any kind of life outside that specific thing. The 10,000 hours are for the people that want to be truly great at something. They have such dedication and passion for whatever they do that it is their life.

  2. I totally agree with what you are saying. I don’t feel like spending 10,000 hours sitting around practicing to become a great musician or great at mountain biking. I feel that if I was forced to sit there and practice that much I would end up hating what I was doing. But then again I don’t think I need to be great to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

