Transformation Tuesday

I know that it’s not Tuesday, but the title is fitting for this final blog of the semester. Tomorrow I will move out of the dorms and close the door on the first chapter of my college career. All in all, this year has been fantastic.

I began my transformation in late August, excited, nervous and ready to meet new people. I didn’t start with that instant “click” that so many people come home and talk about. My first weekend here was kind of lonely to be totally honest. I’ve never been one to be super shy, but I was lacking confidence and really knew no one around me.

And then I met “the ones.” We all somehow got grouped together and all happened to occupy every room on the floor that ended with a 1. We went to our first college party together, worked with each other’s schedules to always have a lunch buddy and spent several late nights watching films together. Over the year we learned who real friends were and our group shrunk from 6 to 4, but I think it’s better this way.

I have found my best friend in my roommate and fellow “one,” Becca. She has taught me to be daring, be different and to take time to treat myself. B has been a huge part of my transformation this year.

Another place I have found opportunities and support in is my sorority, whose open motto is the namesake of this blog. I have connected with so many fabulous girls that love me and our chapter. I know that through this sisterhood I will be able to impact the world around me and Gamma Phi lets my talents as a leader shine. I look forward to living with and loving these girls in the house next year.

The final portion of my transformation has come through the Lutheran Student Center. This faith-based family was the first place I found home in on that beginning welcome weekend. Through the LSC my faith has expanded, strengthened and I been motivated to work hard to serve the Lord and those around me. This summer in my own church I plan to lead a young girls’ Bible study, sing in the praise band and lead VBS music, all with the confidence I have gained through the LSC.

My journey is far from over, and I know that I will look back on this and think, “man, I was a BABY!” But my life is so full of incredible things because of this place, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

